So yeah, four posts in a day, I know, I know. But I seriously have a good reason this time. Promise. Okay then.

Apparently the good citizens of Beppu are so effing hardcore that they don’t even remark on it when the volcano their town is built under dribbles molten earth down its sides like a messy toddler left alone with a bottle of milk. In fact almost no one seemed to even care! I extrapolate that this is because they are jaded to volcanic activity and that this minor eruption didn’t even register as “abnormal” to them. I want to emphasize that this was normal volcanic activity and that no one was put in true danger because of it. Anyway…

Here’s what happened. I was bored, alone, in my room, mostly because I was hiding from the singing people in the kitchen… and I decided to duck outside to take a walk and get some photos of the city at night (I love nighttime cityscapes). Beppu is just as beautiful at night as I’d suspected when I first came to Japan, see?

But before I could take this picture, I noticed an oddly glowing streak of red on the mountainside. My thoughts went sort of like this: “Hey, I wonder what that could b–HOLY CRAP IT’S LAVA.” My head whipped around as I searched for a native to tell me what to do, but before I could panic and completely make an idiot of myself, I realized something. No one cared. No one around me was paying any attention to the giant rivers of molten rock flowing steadily down the mountain. I racked my brains and couldn’t think of anything to do in this situation because it was never mentioned in the evacuation and emergency procedures booklet we were given at the term’s start. So I calmly examined my options and chose the one that made the most sense: Running to the other end of the campus to get a better vantage point to take pictures (I suppose I have no survival instinct whatsoever). Anyway, I got all the way to the outer edge of the campus’s furthest parking lot and got some pretty cool shots. See if you agree with me when I say that this part of Nature is both beautiful and dangerous:

